Six ERG students awarded NSF, plus Fulbright & Ashoka

It is award season in academia, and six ERG students have recently been awarded National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowships (GRF), including Nkiruka Avila, Dimitry Gershenson, Veronica Jacome, Noah Kittner, Laura Moreno and incoming student, Emily Woods. This year  NSF received over 14,000 applications out of which only 2,000 were given award offers. According to the NSF website:

The graduate students awarded the GRF in 2014 represent a diverse group of scientific disciplines and come from all states and the District of Columbia, as well as commonwealths and territories of the United States. They are also a diverse group of individuals. … The Fellows in the 2014 class come from 442 baccalaureate institutions, 58 more than in 2010, when the program first began awarding 2,000 fellowships each year.

Jessica Reilly has been awarded a Fulbright Fellowship to go to Mexico, and earlier this year Fermin Reygadas was awarded an Ashoka Fellowship.

Below is a list of fellowships awarded to current ERG students.

Ashoka Fellowship
Fermin Reygadas

Berkeley Fellowship
Ian Bolliger

Chancellor’s Award
Nkiruka Avila
Pierce Gordon
Daniel Sanchez

Chang-Lin Tien Graduate Fellowship in the Environmental Sciences
Joshua Apte
Danielle Christianson

CONICYT Fellowship
Diego Ponce de Leon
Juan Pablo Carvallo
Felipe Castro

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Star Fellowship
Peter Alstone
Laura Cushing

Foreign Language and Area Studies (FLAS) Fellowship
Zachary Burt
Veronica Jacome

Fulbright Fellowship
Jessica Reilly

Graduate Opportunity Program (GOP) Award
Monica Testa
Patricia Hidalgo-Gonzalez

Humanity United Grant
Dimitry Gershenson

International House Gateway Fellowship
Veronica Jacome

LINK Fellowship
Ranjit Deshmukh

National Geographic Foundation Grant
Diego Ponce de Leon

National Science Foundation
Nkiruka Avila
Zoe Chafe
Michael Cohen
Luke Dodds
Mark Dyson
Dimitry Gershenson
Jessica Goddard
Sasha Harris-Lovett
Veronica Jacome
Noah Kittner
Morgan Levy
Laura Moreno
Autumn Petros-Good
Yang Ruan
Froylan Sifuentes
Michaelangelo Tabone
Cleo Woelfle-Erskine
Grace Wu
Daniel Sanchez
Pierce Gordon
Erica Newman
Emily Woods

Rocca Fellowship
Zachary Burt

Sage-IGERT Fellowship
Noah Kittner

Stern Fellowship
Laura Moreno